top of page

Paul Johnson Distance Award

Team distance driving award to the Club with the most MG miles driven to the GOF Central event.

Paul Johnson Trophy

Pat and Dave Zyp display the Paul Johnson Trophy after the Ohio Chapter recently won it back.

Find out more about Paul and his record setting dash across the continent.

Something about Staten Island to San Diego in 50 hours and 28 minutes in an MG-TD!

Paul Johnson

Previous Winners:

1996       MG3 Milwaukee

1997       Ohio

1998       Ohio Chapter

1999       Michigan

2000       VMGCC Chicago

2001       Ohio Chapter 

2002       Minnesota

2003       Ohio Chapter

2004       Minnesota

2005       Ohio Chapter

2006       Minnesota

2007       VMGCC Chicago

2008       Ohio Chapter

2009       Minnesota

2010       Ohio Chapter

2011       Minnesota

2012       VMGCC Chicago

2013       Ohio Chapter

2014       Olde Octagons of Indiana

2016       Ohio Chapter

2017       Michigan

2018       Minnesota

2019       Chicago

Competition Rules


The object of the award is to encourage the preparation and driving of all MG's in the long distance driving tradition of Paul Johnson.  Paul was an ardent supporter of GOF Central and the award  is also intended to promote the attendance of GOF Central by members of all GOF Central Clubs even though it may require them to make a long journey and to encourage owners of older MG's to drive them to GOF's.


The award will be made on the basis of miles driven to GOF Central in an MG by members of a MG Club that is a member of GOF Central.  A traveling trophy will be awarded each year to the winning club, with the club being responsible for engraving its name and the year on the trophy.  Members of the winning team will also receive individual awards recognizing their participation in the team winning that year's Johnson Trophy competition.


The following rules will govern the Johnson Trophy competition:


  •      Competitors must be a member of the member Club prior to their departure for GOF Central.


  •      All miles driven during the trip to GOF Central will be counted.


  •      Points for mileage driven in an MG will be awarded as follows:


  •     1 point per mile driven in a 1956 or newer MG


  •     2 points per mile driven in a 1945 through 1955 MG


  •     3 points per mile driven in an MG older than 1945.


  •      A Club can not win the trophy 2 years in a row.


Each Club will designate a leader for their team who will be responsible for gathering name, mileage and car type driven for each of their participants and submitting it to the person responsible for the award at GOF Central (Suggested form for this is attached).  Information may be supplemented by that person up to the cut-off time designated by the Host Club (suggested time not earlier than noon of the day of the Awards Banquet).  The Host Club will total the points for each Club on the basis of the information submitted by the designated person of each Club. Presentation of the trophy to the winning team will be made at the Awards Banquet at each GOF Central.  Club winning the trophy will be responsible for engraving the trophy and delivering it to the Club sponsoring the next GOF Central in time for presentation at their event.


Team does not need to calculate scores.  It will be done by GOF person coordinating competition using the following factors:  1 for 1956-1980 MG,  2 for 1945-55 MG; and   3 for MG earlier than 1945.

Download the Rules as a PDF file here. 

bottom of page